Hello World

So, regardless of how you came across my blog, on purpose or just stumbled upon it, I want to thank you for taking the time to check it out. It is my hope to be able to relate life on and around the soccer pitch to the readers.

As I sit here reflecting on the past year, it is amazing just how busy it has been. It started with a decision to move from one school to another by accepting the head girls JV position with my then current high school’s biggest rival.  There was a huge adjustment period for all of us involved, past players, new players, coaches, families and for me personally.

My 1st season with my new school had all the makings of a fairy tale story. Not only , was I from the “enemy”, I was hired over a friend who had been working with the program at the school for some time, I found myself in a program that had a completely different approach to cultivating a soccer environment.   I could not have asked for a better group of players to work with for my 1st season- super attitude towards everything we asked of them, great work ethic and more heart than any one could ever ask for. We ended our season as District and Region Champs- we had a 13-3-4 with 10 of our wins being shut outs. We put over 63 goals away and allowed only 13- not a bad way to end the season.

The summer saw me taking on 2 club teams, more about them in a few. Mainly, the summer found me making the most out of the open season afforded to high school soccer programs and coaching indoor soccer for JV age girls.  The 1st two months of summer had me at the high school pitch in the mornings and heading straight from there to the indoor pitch for an hour.

The last month of summer put me on the pitch every night of the week working with my two club teams.  Both teams were newly formed teams and both had the expected growing pains.  It was interesting to watch the two teams mature and grow as our seasons progressed.  Both teams had fairly good seasons, I hope all of the players felt it was time well spent.

My younger team is gearing up for the spring, we met today to work with the ball for a little bit. I am looking forward to watching these players develop and feel that they will have a great season this spring. It will be interesting to see how we progress in our play as we juggle HS and club.

So, we say good-bye to 2011 and hello to 2012. I find that I am a much richer person for the challenges and experiences I had during my trip around the sun this past year and am so thankful to everyone that has had a part in my personal growth.

May 2012 be everything it can be for all of us-

till I see you on the pitch

Coach J

 

 

This entry was posted in soccer- life around the pitch. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

